A demonstration by Jay Tinker #LoveFoodHateWaste

This weekend was Southport’s Food and Drink festival, today was the best day to choose to go and I was very happy this morning to find the schedule and see that Jay Tinker Finalist in MasterChef 2012 was on the list for demonstrations, I have followed Jay from the minute he arrived on Master chef (along with Shelina who went onto to win). Jay is from Southport also, he recently opened a fine dining establishment in the Town called Tinkers and I’m still waiting to visit and sample the food (hint hint to hubby).

Jay was demonstrating a couple of dishes, first was Tacos and I’m being honest here, I have never eaten them in my life, but hubby got me a sample and it was lovely, he then demonstrated a very quick and healthy option for desserts (both were aimed at  healthy eating and kids). At the end I stopped to talk to Jay and asked him his recipe as we were a little late arriving in the tent (we walked past it, D’oh), he was very gracious and gave me a quick run down.

Flatbread

Chicken or Pork

Homemade Salsa (tomatoes chopped small, small red onion again chopped small, chilli to your liking and some coriander) 

Place a mix of salsa and meat on the Flatbread and fold, place in a warm pan with the fold down and allow to heat through, turning occasionally.

We also spoke about the sponsors of the demonstrators which was LoveFoodHateWaste, which coincidently I had been looking at earlier online as I had a some Lamb leftover and wanted to do something different with it, I eventually found a recipe at BBC Good Recipes that little man was happy to eat, speaking to Jay he also suggested using the lamb with flatbread, lettuce, greek natural yogurt and mint Jelly (stipulating Jelly not sauce), sadly we didnt go with that today as little man wont budge on what he’s eating if already decided.

We had Leftover lamb and Potato pie, having peas instead of the greens suggested as all veg had been eaten yesteday.

So after the chat I spoke to his right hand man who was also a very Lovely Chap and I look forward to seeing them both again, hopefully when I have a special ticket for a special evening in my hand 🙂

We got home and I promptly started dinner which also got me thinking about the waste we do have and in this world of financial instability at present, how could we help each other.

A linky? yes go on, if you don’t like waste why not come back every month and share your LoveFoodHateWaste recipes with us, if using one from online please ensure you link to it in your post .

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

